Seattle Snails!

My partner and I love snails and slugs. The way they move, their textures and colors… just wildly under-appreciated creatures. Some of the shells we found around Seattle have been stellar too.

Most of these come from the Capitol Hill area around the Stevens neighborhood.
On our daily walks we would find these little beauties tucked away into garden corners and the more fertile front yards.
Many of the colors and patterns of the shell are influenced by a snail’s diet.
There are an abundance of garden variety snails in Seattle mainly because it’s a very green place with a lot of natural moisture.
Their flexible prehensile bodies enable the wildest range of mobility so that they’re able to travel strangely well all things considered.
Watching them helps me feel calm and relaxed. They remind me to adjust my pace and to be more mindful.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started